Wagner won’t challenge McCaskill for Senate in Missouri

GOP Rep. Ann Wagner has decided not to challenge Missouri Democratic Sen. Claire McCaskill in 2018, instead opting to stay in the House.

Wagner had long been expected to run against the incumbent Democrat but said she wanted to focus on her family and her home district in a statement.

"Those who know me well know I put my family and my community first," Wagner said. "While I am grateful for the incredible support and encouragement I have received from across Missouri to run for United States Senate, I am announcing today my intention to run for re-election to the United States House of Representatives in 2018. The 2nd District is my home. It’s where I grew up, went to school, have worked and volunteered, raised my kids, and attend church every week — there is no greater honor than representing a place and people that I love."

Other possible GOP challengers to McCaskill include Attorney General Josh Hawley and Reps. Billy Long and Vicky Hartzler.

The Washington Examiner first reported Wagner’s decision.

Leave a Reply

