Trump won’t say if he still supports Bannon

President Donald Trump wouldn’t say whether he still supports his chief strategist Steve Bannon amid reports that Bannon is feuding with Trump’s son-in-law, Jared Kushner.

“I like Steve, but you have to remember he was not involved in my campaign until very late,” Trump said, according to an interview he gave to the New York Post published late Tuesday. “I had already beaten all the senators and all the governors, and I didn’t know Steve. I’m my own strategist and it wasn’t like I was going to change strategies because I was facing crooked Hillary.”

Reports of Bannon and Kushner’s White House-infighting have dominated headlines, and last week Trump ordered the two men to have a sit-down meeting to help smooth any discord.

Despite starting out as allies, tensions between Bannon and Kushner have come to the surface in recent months. Most of the conflict have appeared to center on policy disagreements. Populist Bannon, viewed as much more fiery, has reportedly criticized Kushner’s more moderate views while Kushner is said to be suspicious of Bannon’s influence on the president.

“Steve is a good guy, but I told them to straighten it out or I will,” Trump told the New York Post.

Leave a Reply

